Mother Nature Network: Wal-Mart and McDonald’s gift cards used as a lure for syphilis testing

The story is here.

I’m completely fractured over this.

I’ll put the socially responsible adult reply first: Good for the health workers who found a way to motivate people who might not otherwise be tested.

I’ll put my gut reaction second: Oh…My…God…

Closely followed by my inner 10 year old snickering and the near simultaneous linking between cheap and easy food and cheap and easy sex. Followed by an internal wince over the fact that I’m from North Carolina.

Then I starting thinking about the overarching links between Corporate Giantism and the downfall of the economy, leading to economic uncertainty, leading to risky sexual behaviour, leading to increasing rates of venereal disease, leading to even more money for already bloated corporations.

Oh, it’s th’ ciiiircle, the circle of liiife…….

Always a party in my head.

1 Comment

  1. Fusaceate said,

    October 15, 2009 at 7:05 am

    Hello, it really interesting, thanks


Leave a Reply

